Resilience – From Unlikely Sources

Originally Posted on July 28, 2012 by Dr. Gail Feldman

Once upon a time, when I was physically impaired from broken bones and a head injury, I prayed consistently for healing. I prayed for an end to the fear and panic that resulted from the thought that I would never be able to resume my work. I had no memory, was disoriented, and couldn’t organize my thoughts. I could barely care for myself. How could I be the expert for others?

I’d heard it said that silence is God’s first language. So I listened carefully, deeply to that silence. And what did I hear? Always, I received a message of reassurance, of clarity that I would definitely be completely well one day. In response, I could fall into a lovely space of peacefulness – for a short time.  Within hours, I would be back in the land of fear – feeling dread and hopelessness about my future. So God began communicating with me in another way – through silent messages from animals.

One morning I awoke to find a snake stretched out on the bedroom carpet looking at me. After stifling the urge to be hysterical and scream, I listened for its message: Not to worry, it said.  I was shedding my skin as snakes do, preparing to rebirth myself into a more vital and focused life of service to others who were also on the rocky road of transitions in midlife. Snakes represent “transformation” and the ability to transmute life’s “poisons” into creative energy. I could do that, was the message. (To find out what then transpired between me and that snake, you’ll have to read my book Midlife Crash Course!)

Another morning as I left the house for physical therapy, feeling grumpy and annoyed at the seemingly endless rehabilitation sessions, a huge hawk sat on the railing of my front porch. “Stop looking at the ground in front of you like a little mouse and see the larger picture from above,” it said. “You are healing and will soar like I do.” All right, then. Wow!

1. Know that you too are on your Hero’s Journey and will always be provided with Divine guidance.

2.  Notice guidance coming from any animal that comes into your field of vision, even in your dreams.

3. Ask what message the animal is bringing to you.

4. Listen carefully and express your gratitude.

5. Write the message down and think of at least two ways to practice the guidance the animal has brought to you.

About Dr.Gail Carr Feldman

Dr. Gail Feldman, longtime psychologist, former assistant psychiatry professor, and award-winning author, has published six books, appeared on radio and television programs across the country, including Larry King Live, and has spoken internationally on creativity, resilience and the heroine’s journey. Her current passion is facilitating transformation through the Midlife Crash Course.
This entry was posted in Courage, Health & Vitality, Resilience, Strength, Stress and Coping. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

