World Gratitude Day

Originally Posted on September 19, 2012 by Dr. Gail Feldman

It just so happens that Sept. 21 is not only my birthday – It’s also World Gratitude Day. This inspires me to think about all the things I have to be grateful for: My health, my family, my friends, my career and my calling- the honor of counseling and coaching people, and using state-of-the-art methods like hypnosis, EMDR, EFT or “tapping,” energy and breath-work, to create quick relief and enthusiasm for clients to move forward to achieve their goals. These are the big ones, and it would take pages to list the little joys and graces that occur on a daily basis and remind me just how blessed I am.

What I know from psychology is this: Consistent, persistent gratitude is the bedrock for health and happiness. When we’re looking at what’s right it’s impossible for the little niggling wrongs to get much air-time. When optimism rules the day, course corrections and solutions unfold with intuitive ease.

So my invitation on this World Gratitude Day is to ask yourself, ‘What am I grateful for?’

1. Once a week, make a short list of things for which you are grateful.

2. On your birthday, (and every holiday, especially Thanksgiving) make a very long list of all that you’re grateful for. Truly recognize the many ways that your life is spectacular!

3. Practice the attitude of Optimism. This is the one quality that distinguishes resilient people. Optimism equals self-efficacy, and brings the confidence that you influence all things for good.

4. Use Grief Relief: In your mind, visualize moving the dark energy of loss and disappointment down and out of your body. Then bring in the energy of renewal, lightness, and love and feel it warm your heart.

5. Declare your intention to Be and Live your Core Values. State three of these and Boldly speak them aloud every day: I am Peaceful, Generous and Happy!  I am Love, Confidence and Joy!

Now it’s your turn!

About Dr.Gail Carr Feldman

Dr. Gail Feldman, longtime psychologist, former assistant psychiatry professor, and award-winning author, has published six books, appeared on radio and television programs across the country, including Larry King Live, and has spoken internationally on creativity, resilience and the heroine’s journey. Her current passion is facilitating transformation through the Midlife Crash Course.
This entry was posted in Gratitude, Resilience, Strength and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

