How Responsible Am I?

My Power Path shamanic reading for this month  states that September is the month to be responsible in every area of our lives. Because the month starts off with Labor Day, the arena of work caught my first attention.

How responsive am I to my clients? How attentive am I to the bookkeeping, writing, and continuing education needs of my profession? How well do I nurture my colleagues? How well am I marketing my services?

Thinking of that last question sends me right off to the laundry-room or some attempt to repair the kitchen faucet. As I consider the meaning of “marketing,” however, I have to frame a new question:

What am I doing to share my years-long accumulation of knowledge? I have a responsibility to do that. That is one of the achievements of the Hero’s Journey- after surviving our many challenges on the Road of Trials, we’re charged with returning to our everyday lives and sharing the Treasure, the Wisdom that we’ve accumulated along the way.

Thus (1) this blog that I’ve been putting off doing for weeks.

(2) Preparing a talk on resilience that I’m giving this November

(3) Scheduling a conference this month for my needed CE credits

What areas of your work need an extra focus on responsibility?

My birthday coincides with the Fall Equinox. I believe that birthdays, like anniversaries, should be a time of celebrating our freedom to be even more responsible for our relationship to others and to ourselves. Rather than just relishing the fact that I’ve survived another year, I’m making a list of the accomplishments that I’m grateful for, and also another list of the things I need to do to be more responsible for my health and my happiness, the foundation for my work in the world.

Since fall is a time of nature dying-off or going dormant, this is also a time for us to release burdens or relationships that no longer serve us. What a relief to let go of old judgments and resentments that would keep me in low-vibration emotions. This is the time to take full responsibility for our freedom to choose, to commit to a life of prosperity, health, happiness and love.

In what ways will you be responsible for sharing your wisdom, celebrating your freedom to be more responsible in relationships, and committing to a life of complete fulfillment?

About Dr.Gail Carr Feldman

Dr. Gail Feldman, longtime psychologist, former assistant psychiatry professor, and award-winning author, has published six books, appeared on radio and television programs across the country, including Larry King Live, and has spoken internationally on creativity, resilience and the heroine’s journey. Her current passion is facilitating transformation through the Midlife Crash Course.
This entry was posted in Celebration, Commitment, Freedom, Happiness, Health & Vitality, Resilience, Responsibiity. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

