Resurrection & Rainbows

This is the season of resurrection and rainbows. This truth came to me after a series of “midlife crashes,” including a divorce after 34 years of marriage, a broken heart (literally), and a skiing accident resulting in broken bones and a head injury. I was depressed and despairing, and was given no medical encouragement that I could become strong, clear-thinking, and sturdy again. Three of my healers, knowing that Maui is my spiritual home, recommended I get to Hawaii and into the waters there. “Fat chance,” I thought, since I could barely get myself out of the house. I whined on the phone about this to my daughter, Megan, the world-traveling journalist, who was in the San Francisco area at the time. She listened, told me “get a grip,” and insisted that she would handle the travel logistics and take me to Maui. She did.

I’ve been swimming in the warm, sea-turtle water of Napili Bay for more than twenty years. I felt blessed and delighted to join the tropical fish every morning and at the same time be regaining full range-of-motion and strength in my shoulder. But the real miracle was to happen one morning after I meditated on our lanai. I had been reading Carolyn Myss’ description of the chakra colors in, Anatomy of the Spirit. When I opened my eyes, there was a magnificent rainbow covering the entire bay, arching over the island of Molokai across the straight. I immediately got that the colors in that rainbow were flowing through my body every minute of every day, every color providing a different, significant energy. But that wasn’t the miracle.

The rainbow quickly disappeared and Megan came out, joining me to journal and meditate. As she wrote, I began to have a strong wish for the rainbow to come back. I concentrated and focused my complete attention on manifesting the rainbow. Within several minutes the rainbow appeared, every bit as huge and beautiful as before. I nudged Megan and said, “Look what I did.” We laughed and giggled, and suddenly there was another fabulous rainbow above the first one. “This one’s for you,” I said. From the double rainbow, I received this message: If I could co-create a natural wonder with God, I could certainly co-create my own healing- and I did. As Louise Hay says in her book titles, You Can Heal Your Body- and Your Life.

Rainbow Blessings to You- Gail

About Dr.Gail Carr Feldman

Dr. Gail Feldman, longtime psychologist, former assistant psychiatry professor, and award-winning author, has published six books, appeared on radio and television programs across the country, including Larry King Live, and has spoken internationally on creativity, resilience and the heroine’s journey. Her current passion is facilitating transformation through the Midlife Crash Course.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Resurrection & Rainbows

  1. Deborah Rothman says:

    As always, Gail, I feel, you are inspiration. THanks for this terrific reminder of our capacity to manifest.

    • Dr.Gail Carr Feldman says:

      Thank you Deborah. I feel it important to be reminded constantly of the power of our creativity and our faith!

Leave a Reply

