A NEW YEAR – A NEW LIFE!

A NEW YEAR – A NEW LIFE!
This is literally true for me this year as my third grandson, Santiago, was born on January 6th – a new and precious life. Last year, however, 2014, marked the passing of my closest friend and colleague, Dr. Marcia Landau. Over forty years, she helped me through every loss and life change, large and small. Like a mother, sister, mentor and angel, her wisdom flowed freely, along with a loving, unwavering faith in me. I thought I’d never be able to face her death, but now I know she taught me so Santiagothoroughly to believe in myself that I internalized that belief. Her strengths are now my strengths.

“Your hand opens and closes, opens and closes. If it were always a fist or always stretched open, you would be paralyzed. Your deepest presence is in every small contracting and expanding, the two as beautifully balanced and coordinated as birds’ wings.” Rumi

Using that lovely metaphor, I can choose to open to all that was achieved and honor all that was lost in the past year, then let it go, feeling whole, grateful and complete. I can take hold of all that I wish to enjoy and achieve in this new year, and then release it to the Universe for manifestation, as I do my part to bring it forth.

So I choose to acknowledge the following achievements in this past year:

1. The first is in public speaking. In college, I was terrified to even announce my name, let alone ask questions in class. I never would have predicted that over the next years, I would have given over 100 talks in different types of venues and different parts of the world. Last year I spoke in San Diego, Albuquerque, Verona, Italy and Vienna, Austria. Not only were the talks well-received, I was blessed with being able to visit many cities in Europe on two different trips, both times enjoying the inspired art, amazing architecture and magnificent music.

2. The second area I acknowledge is in my professional coaching.

I reached a milestone in the number of my coaching clients, and their glowing testimonials provide proof that I’ve achieved a high level of competence and skill in helping them accomplish personal and professional goals with ease and velocity. My own coach has had to hold this vision for me, as I doubted my ability to develop such expertise, after so many years of single-minded focus on clinical psychology. (Thank you for your support and wisdom, Janis Pullen. Thank you for your persistence in learning, Gail Feldman)

3. The third area is foundational. In order to achieve all that I have in my career, I’ve had to learn to love myself. I mean really love myself! That required many creative practices to stop judging myself harshly. My ego was skilled at holding me hostage to old false beliefs of not being “good enough, smart enough, deserving enough for _______________.”

Loving myself meant learning to forgive myself constantly for the misdemeanors, as well as the major “crimes” that would keep me ruminating and up at night. “How could I have said that? How could I have failed to notice what that person really needed? How could I be such an idiot? What did I do wrong that _______ doesn’t seem to want to see me anymore?”

I had to stop contracting; practice opening and expanding and letting those things go. And then love myself again in spite of, and because of, everything.

“My point is, life is about balance. The good and the bad. The highs and the lows. The pina and the colada.”

Ellen DeGeneres

What will you acknowledge and honor about 2014?
What can you release, bless and be complete with?

What will you claim for yourself in 2015?

What will your new created-life look like?

How will you create balance in your life this year?

Let’s make sure we have both the pina and the colada!
Many Blessings,

About Dr.Gail Carr Feldman

Dr. Gail Feldman, longtime psychologist, former assistant psychiatry professor, and award-winning author, has published six books, appeared on radio and television programs across the country, including Larry King Live, and has spoken internationally on creativity, resilience and the heroine’s journey. Her current passion is facilitating transformation through the Midlife Crash Course.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

