New Year – Blank Page

Greetings!

What Achievements Will You Acknowledge for 2015?

Every new year’s eve, whether at a gathering, or alone, at midnight I take a beautiful

card with blank pages inside and write a letter to myself: on the left side, “Dear Gail,”

and then I list all the wonderful achievements and blessings that have occurred that

year. On the right side of the card I write about what I look forward to creating in the

new year. This is what I wrote on December 31st:001

1. 2015 began with new life, literally- the birth of my third

grandson, Santiago Wolf Bettencourt, aka Mr. Adorable.

2. My coaching practice accelerated, adding several more yearlong

clients along with those who continue their contracts for four

to six month services. Facilitating people to express their highest creativity and realize

their many goals is a great honor.

3. I was able to return to Italy this year, a country I love, to spend time in Tuscany at a

Mindfulness Conference with Donald Altman. I was awestruck and inspired to see and

learn more of the history of these ancient cities, towns and cathedrals.

4. My “talk of the year” was Wonder Woman: Five Strides to Greater Power &

Resilience. It was so well-received, I’ll be giving it two more times in 2016- February in

Santa Fe, April in San Diego.

0025. My daughter, Megan, had her first book released in

August: Triumph of the Heart: Forgiveness in an Unforgiving World.

This is a beautiful book about social justice, and it’s the

culmination of fifteen years as an award-winning

journalist, international travels, heart-rending interviews, and

compelling narratives. I’m so proud of her.

6. This December I spoke at the Resource Center for Victims of Violent Death at their

annual Snowflake Memorial. It’s deeply humbling to speak to a group

of parents and families of murdered children. I spoke of Viktor Frankl, the physician

who survived three years of starvation and hard labor, but lost his entire family in the

Nazi death camps. His primary message is that one must endure suffering and grief in

order to live and love and find meaning again through service to others. I am totally

inspired by the parents who’re committed to helping other parents survive this most

heart-wrenching grief.

7.And lastly, I’m grateful for the love of family, friends, and the trust of my coaching

and therapy clients. I am so privileged to have been given this life!

What Will Emerge on Your Blank Page for 2016?

And then I turned to the new page for 2016 and for the first time, I was at a loss. I

could think of nothing that would top 2015. Two weeks later I’m still looking at that

blank page. So I decided to look at how it was that I achieved such success last year.

Yes, I was blessed, but what did I do to help create it?

As I reviewed my own coaching notes from last year, I realized I’d focused

consistently on releasing self-criticism and practicing self-love.

This poem from Rumi was inspiration:

Your deepest presence is in every small contracting and expanding, the two as

beautifully balanced and coordinated as birds’ wings.”

In my daily meditations, I released fear and self-doubt; I embraced myself with love

and compassion. And as I did this, I manifested more and more of what I desired for

my life.

Now, for 2016 I am declaring that I will continue to practice expanding into self-love

and love of others, and releasing all limited thinking and negativity. I will serve others in

every way that I can and I will practice what I teach about Wonder Woman: to be the

Badass Wonder Woman Goddess I came here to be!003

More than ever, I believe the world needs the heroic qualities of

our Divine Feminine Energy!

All Blessings to you this year,

Gail

About Dr.Gail Carr Feldman

Dr. Gail Feldman, longtime psychologist, former assistant psychiatry professor, and award-winning author, has published six books, appeared on radio and television programs across the country, including Larry King Live, and has spoken internationally on creativity, resilience and the heroine’s journey. Her current passion is facilitating transformation through the Midlife Crash Course.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

